Connect with us

Feed your fixation

Time for a change at the USGA?



Justin Thomas who battled the USGA on twitter

This is likely a question on the minds of many in the golf world right now. Especially with the latest debacle between the USGA and Justin Thomas.

New rules aside because I think in most cases the USGA and R&A did the right thing to modernize the rules.

Let’s take a look at some of the biggest controversies that USGA has endured with Mike Davis as the CEO since 2011.

Let’s start with the most recent event, that everyone is taking about.

View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Golf Digest (@golfdigest) on

I’m not sure who is in charge of the PR account at the USGA. But typically PR teams are trying to clean up messes from others in the organization. Instead, they are the ones creating the controversy. And for something they didn’t even need to address.

2016 US Women’s Open

Hot off the heels of what was likely the biggest black eye for the USGA (keep reading). The USGA paired its black eye with two broken legs.

First was the penalty to Anna Nordqvist that eventually handed the tournament to Britney Lang. I do give the USGA credit for working to change the rule that inevitably allowed this penalty to take place.

I’m also not saying that Anna Nordqvist wasn’t to blame. And there was a penalty. It’s just the manner in which it was dealt with. Which seemed the be the norm in 2016 for the USGA.

Now fast forward to the trophy ceremony. The then President of the USGA Diana Murphy proceeded to get Britney Lang’s name wrong 4 times. Calling her instead Bethany. Cringe…

2016 US Open

This was likely the biggest mark against the USGA in recent memory.

The original rule that gave Dustin Johnson a penalty at the 2016 US open was vague, and hard to understand. Again I give them credit for modernizing this rule. It was actually their eventual handling of the penalty that was the real issue.

The putt in question occurred on the 5th hole of the final round. DJ explained the situation that the ball moved but he had done nothing to make it move. And it is deemed that no penalty will be assessed. No harm, no foul.

Then on the 12th tee, the USGA’s top official comes to talk to Dustin to inform him that a penalty may be assessed. But they would review it after the round.

So now DJ is expected to keep playing without knowing if he has 2 shot or a 1 shot lead…

Rory pretty much summed it up.

The USGA has two major tournaments a year to showcase great golf. But they are always so focussed on setting up the toughest challenge in golf and “protecting par”. I think they forget that the millions watching on tv just want to watch these great players do what they love.

In my opinion they need to take a step back and reevaluate and stop taking them selves so seriously and really listen to what the pros and the fans are saying.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Feed your fixation

Rocket Golf Club: The next big thing in golf?

What do you get when you strap a rocket on a golf club? A rocket golf club!




Rocket Golf Club by Mark Rober
Mark Rober (Youtube)

Each year companies like Taylormade and Callaway try to come up with the next big technology to increase your driving distance. Well, one of my favorite Youtube engineers just left them in the dust with his rocket golf club.

Of course, Mark didn’t have to worry about making it onto the USGA conforming list. But who cares. It’s a rocket golf club! But maybe this can be a future change to the rules of golf.

I hope you enjoy as much as I did.

What’s even better, he published how he made it.

What do you think? How far do you think the balls actually went? Let me know below.

Continue Reading

Feed your fixation

All 82 Masters Champions




Masters Champions

Arguably the biggest tournament of the year is just a few short weeks away. And to help get us all ready here is a list of every Masters Champion in the history of the tournament.

Since Bobby Jones and Clifford Roberts started the Masters Tournament in 1934, there have been 82 playings of the tournament, and 53 different Masters Champions.

The Masters Champions from 1932-1942
The Masters Champions from 1932-1942 – Horton Smith, Gene Sarazen, Horton Smith (2), Byron Nelson, Henry Picard, Ralph Guldahl, Jimmy Demaret, Craig Wood, Byron Nelson (2)
The Masters Champions from 1946-1954
The Masters Champions from 1946-1954 – Herman Keiser, Jimmy Demaret (2), Claude Harmon, Sam Snead, Jimmy Demaret (3), Ben Hogan, Sam Snead (2), Ben Hogan (2), Sam Snead (3)
The Masters Champions from 1955-1963
The Masters Champions from 1955-1963 – Cary Middlecoff, Jack Burke, Jr., Doug Ford, Arnold Palmer, Art Wall, Jr., Arnold Palmer (2), Gary Player, Arnold Palmer (3), Jack Nicklaus
The Masters Champions from 1964-1972
The Masters Champions from 1964-1972 – Arnold Palmer (4), Jack Nicklaus (2), Jack Nicklaus (3), Gay Brewer, Bob Goalby, George Archer, Billy Casper, Charles Coody, Jack Nicklaus (4)
The Masters Champions from 1973-1981
The Masters Champions from 1973-1981 – Tommy Aaron, Gary Player (2), Jack Nicklaus (5), Raymond Floyd, Tom Watson, Gary Player (3), Fuzzy Zoeller Seve Ballesteros, Tom Watson (2)
The Masters Champions from 1982-1990
The Masters Champions from 1982-1990 – Craig Stadler, Seve Ballesteros (2), Ben Crenshaw, Bernhard Langer, Jack Nicklaus (6), Larry Mize, Sandy Lyle, Nick Faldo, Nick Faldo (2)
The Masters Champions from 1991-1999
The Masters Champions from 1991-1999 – Ian Woosnam, Fred Couples, Bernhard Langer (2), José María Olazábal, Ben Crenshaw (2), Nick Faldo (3), Tiger Woods, Mark O’Meara, José María Olazábal (2)
The Masters Champions from 2000-2008
The Masters Champions from 2000-2008 – Vijay Singh, Tiger Woods (2), Tiger Woods (3), Mike Weir, Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods (4), Phil Mickelson (2), Zach Johnson, Trevor Immelman
The Masters Champions from 2009-2017
The Masters Champions from 2009-2017 – Ángel Cabrera, Phil Mickelson (3), Charl Schwartzel, Bubba Watson, Adam Scott, Bubba Watson (2), Jordan Spieth ,Danny Willett, Sergio García

Leave a comment below. Who you think will be the next person to slip on the Green Jacket this year as the 2019 Masters Champion.

Continue Reading